(Photo: Getty Images)

The CFDA will host the awards ceremony online for 2020

The coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic is putting the fashion industry on hold, with many major events canceled or postponed. The Council of Fashion Designers of America plans on hosting the 2020 CFDA Fashion Awards with some changes to adhere to safety recommendations for COVID-19.

The CFDA awards ceremony was slated for earlier this year but they decided to postpone the event to prepare for an online celebration of fashion. The new date of the awards ceremony is September 14 and winners of each design category will be announced on the official CFDA website and social media channels.

The chairman of the CFDA, Tom Ford, expresses the challenges of planning a safe every and all the safety protocol changes for the fashion industry including this big event. Tom Ford says, “In this time of unprecedented challenge and change for our industry, we feel very strongly that it is important to recognize the nominees representing the best of fashion creativity.”

A majority of the award categories will remain for the 2020 awards ceremony including top fashion creatives in global design, menswear, womenswear, emerging talent, and accessories. Honoree categories that will no be featured this year will include Fashion Icon Award, Founder’s Award, Lifetime Achievement Award, and Award for Positive Change.

Ford says that instead of focusing on hosting an in-person event the CFDA will be prioritizing supporting the designer community through this global pandemic. The CFDA will also focus its efforts on next-generation scholarships and making changes to support racial equality in the fashion industry.

Ford is looking forward to returning to hosting an in-person event honoring the American fashion industry in 2021. Here is a list of the 2020 nominees:

American Womenswear Designer of the Year
– Marc Jacobs
– Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
– Gabriela Hearst
– Brandon Maxwell
– Tom Ford

American Menswear Designer of the Year
– Tom Ford
– Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss
– Todd Snyder
– Thom Browne
– Emily Adams Bode for Bode

American Accessories Designer of the Year
– Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry
– Telfar Clemens for Telfar
– Stuart Vevers for Coach
– Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row
– Gabriela Hearst

American Emerging Designer of the Year
– Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud
– Peter Do
– Reese Cooper
– Christopher John Rogers
– Kenneth Nicholson

Global Women’s Designer of the Year
– Miuccia Prada for Prada
– Rick Owens
– Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta
– Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino
– Dries Van Noten

Global Men’s Designer of the Year
– Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton
– Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
– Craig Green
– Kim Jones for Dior
– Dries Van Noten